Posted on

Obscurus playtesting + Swedish Game Awards Conference reflections

The SGA Conference

This weekend, I attended the Swedish Game Awards Conference. Traditionally, the student game competition was held at my school, KTH (Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm), but this year it was held by Södertörns University. While it was refreshing to move to a new venue, I feel that the organizers had a bit of trouble during the weekend. The schedule of talks was constantly getting changed, being pushed back or cancelled. The lectures themselves were really great, and I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of female game developers that were holding talks, especially as it was International Women’s Day on Saturday.

Student showcase

This year was the first to include a student showcase, where students get the chance to show off their projects. I chose to showcase Obscurus, and overall it went pretty well. The demo poltergeist struck, halving my framerate for no reason from when I tried the game at home. This meant that instead of a framerate of around 45, it was closer to 20. Despite this, a lot of people were interested in trying out the game, and I got a lot of valuable feedback, both verbally from the players but also from observation.

Obscurus first venture into the wild

Obscurus first venture into the wild

One interesting fact was that the labyrinth was too hard to navigate for a majority of players. Only 6 out of 27 players were able to make it to end. Every person commented on the low framerate, and most commented on the high mouse sensitivity. Luckily, I got some help from a friend at the event, and I have since fixed the sensitivity issue, and he’ll be helping me in the future for a smoother camera as well.

In other news, I’ve decided that I am giving Obscurus 2-3 more weeks before SGA, so that I can focus on other projects and contrinue to try to get thesis work.

 

Leave a Reply

